Shade Additions

You may remember me telling you about my new ramada… and sharing the picture of the lace table cloth version of shade… (Ref:    https://moablynette.wordpress.com/2015/03/16/shade-version-1-0/ ) I’ve made a couple more “roofs” for the PVC framework – one out of old blue jeans, and the other out of a cotton print I had laying around, intermixed with some unbleached muslin.  I love them all – it’s nice to have choices, and I think which one I choose will depend on the weather and wind.

I pieced two pairs of jeans together, using the waist-band from each as the ends.

Shade from old blue jeans...

Shade from old blue jeans…

another view - shade from old blue jeans

another view – shade from old blue jeans

The second new one has “vents” (big ones!) – six inch strips of print and muslin attached to end strips running the other way – tied off to the PVC structure on the corners and in the middle…

cotton strip shade

cotton strip shade

cotton strip shade - another view

cotton strip shade – another view

You may also recall my umbrella project (Ref:  https://moablynette.wordpress.com/2014/11/18/new-project-a-work-in-progress/ ) – well that’s done now too!!  This was a bit more of an engineering feat – and it weighs 5000 lbs., but it’s cute, and I’m calling it a success!!

My chenille and lace umbrella

My chenille and lace umbrella

This entry was posted in Home Sweet Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment