Utah Road Trip: 5-12-2013

When I awoke at 5:10 a.m. the sky in the east was getting light – but I could still see about as many stars as I can see at home – yes really.  So interesting!  I finally stirred out of my sleeping bag about 6 a.m. and fired up the little hair-spray-can burner to heat water for coffee.  I even dragged along the French Press for this one morning (Thanks Liz – it worked great!).  As the water was heating, I rolled everything up – between the fact that I was using this tiny little excuse for a stove, and the elevation is a little over 6500 ft., I had plenty of time!  Coffee tastes even better than usual in a camp site!

I stopped at the Visitor Center to wash my hands (no water in the campground, and I was just grimy!) and buy a map – then headed for Blanding.  Sorry Ed (Abbey), but US95 is an absolutely awesomely fabulous road.  There are “peek” views down into the labyrinth of Grand Gulch and expansive views of the surrounding countryside – the beautiful Abajos to the north, Sleeping Ute (over in Colorado) to the east – Monument Valley to the south – Comb Ridge directly in front of you… and again – there is nobody there.

I stopped at Butler Wash and learned that it was only a half-mile hike to the overlook into the ruins.  I was the only car in the parking lot – I didn’t ven close the door to the outhouse – the hike was great, across the juniper desert and slick rock, trail marked by cairns.  The ruin is lovely in a gorgeous set of natural caves.  Along the way I photographed a penstemon, a bunch of yellow flowers, and a lizard, which actually lead me to see a claret cup cactus – which is one of the reasons I’m here at this time of year… The CCC was just in bud – hopefully the heat wave I’m experiencing right now will make these pop!  But I’m getting ahead of myself…

Creature of habit that I am, I stopped at the same Shell station in Blanding that I “always go to” – topped off the tank, bought water and ice, and drained the ice chest.  I then proceeded to try to get to Moab – but I kept getting side-tracked by the views of, first – the Abajos, then the La Sals – which are marvelously snow-capped and even more fabulously beautiful than they usually are… Suffice to say – I was screaming a lot as I drove north on 191…

I remembered about half-way to my mom’s house last Tuesday that I forgot to bring my day pack, so I stopped at Walker Drug in Moab to buy something I could use to haul my shoes and maps on my upcoming 4×4 tour.  I then proceeded to Navtec to let them know I’m here and find out when they can take me to The Needles District of Canyonlands.   The poor owner was being dressed down by three very angry, overwrought, unreasonable females who were pissed that their just-concluded tour through Island in the Sky had not included a side-excursion to Musselman Arch… He was remarkably calm considering how bitchy they were being… poor guy.  Bottom line is that I’m going to Needles tomorrow!!!!!   I got to meet my guide (Kevin) and got instructions to show up at 7:45 – I. Can. Not. Wait.

I went to Zax for lunch and had a Zax burger which tasted great because it was and because I was really hungry…!  I also had a “Johnny’s IPA” from the Moab Brewery – not bad at all!!!

I’m now ensconced in “Cabin D” (complete with a sliding glass door that doesn’t lock from the inside…) at Archview – sitting on the porch, using a lawn chair as a desk, drinking beer and looking out across the desert to the snow-capped La Sals… Did I mention that it was over 90F here today?? I think the rainy weather is over…  Now if only I had an internet connection…

This entry was posted in Road Trip!, Utah. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Utah Road Trip: 5-12-2013

  1. Ashlee Sack says:

    I always wonder about people who aren’t happy on vacations…if you can’t enjoy life when you’re surrounded by beauty and enjoying the fruits of your labor, there may not be hope for you. I always try to be extra nice to servers and guides when I see that kind of abuse. I’m sure your guide will love your enthusiasm and appreciation (I think it helps them to remember why they became guides in the first place, which is a nice reminder).

Leave a comment