Utah Road Trip: 5-13-2013

When I was packing, I figured out that I didn’t need to bring an alarm clock on this trip because my cell phone has an alarm function – (I’ve only owned this particular phone since 2004 – I think we can assume I don’t use all the features…).  I wanted to wake up early (like 6 a.m. local time) so I could have coffee and get ready for my 4WD trip in a leisurely fashion.  Turns out, I didn’t need it – I woke up about 10 minutes ahead of the alarm… somebody would think I really want to go on this trip!!!  I pulled into the Navtec parking lot in Moab at about 7:35 – went inside and signed all the “I promise I won’t sue you if you kill me – this was my idea” paperwork and met my co-travelers David & Susie from Atlanta.  We left right on time with Kevin-the-guide at the wheel.  He told us stories about himself (ex-army, professional trumpet player, etc.) and about stuff we passed.  He also asked each of us enough about ourselves to be polite but not probing.

Our first stop was Newspaper Rock in the Indian Creek.  I love this place and even though I have a million pictures of it, I always stop if I’m “in the neighborhood” and I always take more pictures… can’t help it!  Kevin was freaking out a little because there was a whole herd of Jeeps that got away before us – he was concerned that if they hit Elephant Hill before we did, it could significantly delay our trip.  While we were in line at the Canyonlands entrance station, he jogged up and asked the guy in front of us if we could go ahead of them since there were so many of them – fortunately this guy was a good Jeeper and said “sure”.

This trip was a perfect balance of 4WD shenanigans, gorgeous scenery, hiking and pictographs. It made me keep saying to myself how great this idea was — I was never ever going to see the Needles District of Canyonlands by myself.  I’ve flown over, driven all the paved roads – even some of the unpaved ones, but even the Park Service recommends against solo travel in the back country – mainly because the Elephant Hill loop road is so notoriously gnarly (estimates for towing if you get stuck out there are north of $1500).

I was continually filled with awe and admiration for Kevin’s technical driving capabilities.  He was careful without being timid, assertive without being careless, confident without being arrogant… I could go on and on.  This drive also made me realize that all the off-roading I’ve ever done was just that – off-roading – not rock climbing.  There were lots of places on the loop that reminded me of places we have been around here, but there were some rock-crawling gems (Elephant Hill itself, S.O.B. hill, the Silver Stairs, “Squeezeplay”, Budweiser Hill, Coors Hill…) that I would never EVER attempt in my Grand Cherokee!

Kevin wormed his way into my heart forever when I made a casual reference to Edward Abbey and he lit up like a Christmas tree – started quoting whole paragraphs from Desert Solitaire.  The easterners with whom I was sharing the expedition were pretty much speechless since they had never heard of Edward Abbey.  Geez.  I mean really.  Ack.

Lunch was sandwiches, pickles, chips, cookies and juice at “Devil’s Kitchen” – Kevin picked a vacant campsite up a slot canyon that was about 20 degrees cooler than where we parked the Land Rover. There were flowers everywhere (Kevin even found me a claret cup cactus!) – and except when we encountered the Jeep group a couple more times, it was beautifully quiet.  We saw a bull snake!  A BIG bull snake!  Kevin had gone ahead to scout S.O.B. and we heard him yell – “Hey, you guys!  Come see this!”  It was very, very cool.

The hike was a 0.6 mile trail up (then back again) through some very tall, narrow rock fissures into Chesler Park.  I’d consider the hike moderate in all but a couple of places where Kevin gave us all a hand-up some particularly tall stairs where there were no obvious hand-holds. The payoff was a panoramic view of Chesler Park – which is really the quintessence of the Needles District – a perfect amphitheater surrounded by tall red and white striped spires (needles) with a great meadow in the middle, and views of the buttes in the Maze off in the distance.  Absolutely stunningly gorgeous.  We rolled into Moab at about 7:30 p.m. – it was a long but very enjoyable, rewarding day!!  I got back to my cabin and as I was reviewing my photographs, having a beer and eating a little cheese & fruit, I realized that I was so tired I couldn’t even sit here – so I just gave up and went to bed!   Great day!  Oh.  I already said that.  Well it was!!!

This entry was posted in Road Trip!, Utah. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Utah Road Trip: 5-13-2013

  1. Ashlee Sack says:

    A good guide can make all the difference, and so can an appreciative traveler! What an exciting trip – I could see it all in my mind. (Could even feel the difference of the temperature in the shade of the slot canyon.) Love it!

  2. Erin says:

    Okay, first of all you’ve had your phone since 2004?!!! That’s almost 10 years! I thought they entered self destruct mode and just exploded before then… Also this sounds amazing and I’m glad you and Kevin-the-guide had a special connection 😉 I won’t tell David…

Leave a comment